BSN Bound Nursing Students

 

What is BSN Bound?
BSN Bound means Bachelor of Science in Nursing after graduating from Greenville Technical College Nursing. Clemson and USC Upstate both have ADN to BSN programs and have outlined a curriculum for the ADN student to progress while at GTC and then further their degree at a 4 year college.

Why would I choose this option?
It has been recommended that all ADN nurses continue their education to achieve bachelors degree. Many institutions that are hiring RN's are preferring to hire a nurse with a B.S.N. Degree. These hiring institutions have mentioned that they would be more likely to hire a RN out of a technical college if that RN is enrolled in a BS degree program to continue her education. Also, a BSN has more employment options because there are some institutions that only hire BSN degree or higher ie: public health departments.

What are the requirements to enter into this program of study?
Each school of nursing has their own requirements and course progression.
Contact the school of your choice and talk to their nursing advisor.

  • Clemson
    Interested students should continue to contact Ellen Chiles, RN/BS Student Services Coordinator in the School of Nursing at achiles@clemson.edu or (864) 250-8881 to receive program information and to initiate the application process.
  • USC Upstate
    Interested students should continue to contact Chasity Ramos, Advisor for RN-BSN students in the School of Nursing at cramos@uscupstate.edu or (864) 552-4262 to receive program information and to initiate the application process.

How long will it take to achieve my BSN after I graduate from Greenville Technical College with my RN?
Clemson and USC Upstate have tried to make this process as quick as possible. It all depends on when you enter and when you have your pre-requisites completed, but one full year of study can be achieved.

Are there other options for continuing education?
Absolutely! You can search the web and find many opportunities for nursing education. There are possibilities for ADN to Masters degrees and ADN to doctorate degrees.

How do I get started?
The BSN Bound Contacts at GTC are:

Lydia Dunaway: lydia.dunaway@gvltec.edu
Lynn Lyons: lynn.lyons@gvltec.edu
Victoria Queen: victoria.queen@gvltec.edu
Susan Nitto: susan.nitto@gvltec.edu